C25K Week 1 Day 3

Workout – 5 min: warm up brisk walk

20 min: alternating 1:00 jog/1:30 walk

5 min: cool down easy walk

Stats – 2.53 miles

    11:52 min/mile

Conditions – 56 degrees, mixed terrain (road/grass)

Comments –  I figured I would be off from last run, because my legs were sore all day, right under the knees, front of both legs..is this what they call “shin splints”? I have seen conflicting advice about stretching, so I haven’t really done any, choosing to slowly accelerate during my warm-up walk. I feel pretty good once I get going, and now I’m all sore again, but I hope a hot shower will help. Any advice from the gallery?

I really believe I could run more than walk, but I will resist the temptation to jump ahead of the regimen; I am often tempted to “shortcut”, but it’s rare to achieve a good result from that. Next week the length of each segment increases, along with the overall duration, so let’s see how I do!

One other positive thing – yesterday I registered for my first race…the Bayou City Classic 5K Fun Run on March 9th (the 10K is the sanctioned RCAA event, but I’m not ready for that!) That coincides nicely with the finish of the training plan, and makes it seem “official” – now I’m a REAL runner! After this race, I intend to take it to the next level, and start the 5K-to-10K training, then the half-marathon, then the full marathon. I’m loving it!

One comment

  1. iRuniBreathe

    Starting slow is great, give your body lots of time to adjust to something new. I’d definitely consider stretching. You could do dynamic stretches before you run which may help ease your body into it even more.
    Looks like you are doing great!

Leave a Reply

