That which doesn’t kill us…

…can sometimes make you wish it had. You ever felt like the universe was conspiring against you? Like you’re on the right path, but just can’t get a break? It’s been one of those days today, and I think I’m gonna wave the white flag and try again tomorrow.

I spent the last two weeks pushing through the end-of-year molasses, working to reach some kind of consensus at my jobsite between an owner who doesn’t exactly know what they want, a general contractor who is not empowered to make decisions, and my own engineer, who is…an engineer. Just as I finally begin to feel that I’m gaining some traction, a mudslide of indecision piles across the road, and we’re back to nowhere…sigh.

So I trudge through the rest of the day, really looking forward to getting off work and heading out to run today…starting Week 2 on the C25K… when I begin to feel the unmistakable sensation that my prostate is once again trying to escape, and is more than willing to rip out a sphincter as it goes (yes, graphic, sorry – but if you suffer from extreme ‘roids, you know, and if you don’t, you cannot imagine.) No running today…SIGH.

I finally make it home, limp along with a few necessary chores, settle down to watch the news and weather…and the forecast has the rest of the week looking like a rehearsal for a Noah’s Ark revival – 4+ inches of rain in the next 48 hours, followed by more rain over the weekend. I feel for the folks here running in the Aramco Half-Marathon and the Chevron Marathon; there are world-class runners competing, with the potential of national and world records being broken, but probably not in THOSE conditions…SIGH.

I’m going to bed now, before anything else falls off/out/apart…as Scarlett O’Hara said, “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

