C25K Week 2 Day 2

Workout – 5 min: warm up brisk walk

21 min: alternating 1:30 jogging/2:00 walking

5 min: cool down easy walk

Stats – 2.80 miles (personal best)

    11:04 min/mile

Conditions – 70 degrees, smoky, mixed terrain (road/grass)

Comments – Recently I posted, “Onward, through the fog!”  Perhaps I should be careful what I say – today my regular running path was hazy with the smoke of a burning trash pile –  I could smell plastic, or Styrofoam, or some such noxious thing; one of the drawbacks of living on the fringe of the city limits (within the city, open fires are against the law, and the city provides garbage collection; while across the line, in the unincorporated area of the county, trash burning is legal, and garbage collection must be paid for – economics rears its head in the strangest places).

Today was the longest distance I have covered yet, and I finally found the pace…I’m running there-and-back, making the turn when my coaching app announces “Halfway there!” by elapsed time; today was the first time I actually made it all the way back to the start point by the end time! The difference seems to be that, once I noticed my calves getting tight on the “walk” interval, I decided to stretch the length of my stride on the “run” interval. I guess I have been letting my body dictate, but no longer! The difference felt awesome!

Thanks to all who liked or commented this week – just knowing that others are cheering me on is a huge boost, and lets me know I’m not running in the void. I hope I’m providing the same support to you!

Leave a Reply

