C25K Reboot Week 1 Day 3

Workout – 5 min: warm up brisk walk

20 min: alternating 1:00 jog/1:30 walk

5 min: cool down easy walk

Stats – 2.58 miles

    11:36 min/mile

Conditions – 80 degrees, grassy terrain

Comments –  It’s a lot of work to make schedules jive with desires; I took two days off between runs, had a lot of personal errands yesterday, and a long day tomorrow (preaching twice again this week: my church in the morning, and the Spanish service in the evening…I like them, it’s lively and joyful worship! If this keeps up, I may finally have sufficient reason to buy Rosetta Stone and learn Spanish )

I think today was the warmest day yet, but since I hate the cold, I’m enjoying it…I may not feel the same when it’s in the 90’s at five o’clock, but that just comes with the territory of living in South Texas. Heard on the news earlier that the groundhog did not see his shadow this year – strange, since they typically have about a million TV camera lights on him,,,how can he NOT see a shadow? Whatever, even the weather doesn’t know what the weather is going to do!

These training runs aren’t pushing me yet, so I have reasonable confidence that the actual 5K won’t be so bad. I keep thinking I should be doing more, like cross-training or something…where should I look? I welcome any advice, or at least a tip where to find some advice.

One comment

  1. iRuniBreathe

    Nick,
    sounds like this is all going very well. Cross-training is great too (helps with injury prevention and gives a mental break) — do something you like to do. Go to the gym, get on your bike (or the spin bike in the gym), elliptical, strength training, yoga, swimming. It all adds.
    Here’s a good little video you can do daily to help with posture and running muscles.

Leave a Reply

