5K-to-10K Week 1 Day 3

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 30:00 steady run / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:  80 degrees (!); running the streets around and through the park

Stats:              3.72 miles @ 10:45/mile (PR for distance)

Comments:  I have been reading a lot of running blogs over the last few weeks, and I cannot imagine what it must be like to be training in freezing temperatures in March, or doing snowshoe runs (you Canada girls are crazy!!)..I just started running at the beginning of this year, and I was shivering and griping when it got into the 40’s; on the other hand, I bet some of my snowbound readers are aghast at the idea of 80+ degrees at sunset on St. Patrick’s Day (that’s our forecast here in the Bayou City). Today made me really realize how soon I need to get my hydration strategy together – I have a 10K in seven weeks, it can easily be in the 90’s by then!

So, after my “crash-and-burn” first tempo run, I hope I have learned the lesson of pacing…today was the longest duration workout I have ever done, and the farthest distance (Do any of you remember the early days, when nearly every run was a new PR?) but I really felt I could have gone much further; the pace was nice and comfortable once I got past the first mile and warmed up. (According to Nike+, when you remove the walk intervals, I’m holding a steady 9:00/mile, plus or minus a few seconds…it felt slower, but I can live with that.) That pace will have me doing the 10K in under an hour, and I have six weeks to work on improving…as long as I can learn tempo and fast runs without fainting! So let’s hear it for steady improvement!

Leave a Reply

