5K-to-10K Week 2 Day 1

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 20:00 steady run / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:  76 degrees; running the streets in and around the park

Stats:             2.40 miles @ 12:28/mile (Active) // 2.79 miles @ 10:52/mile (Nike+)

Comments: As I tweeted earlier today, I have decided to step up a notch on the training, and eliminate the 7th day from each week…this will allow me to complete the entire plan before my 10K in May – just before it, but close counts in horseshoes, hand grenades, and training plans, right? This also alternates my “busy” days from one week to the next, which gives me a great deal more flexibility in my life…and runners are all about flexibility!

So, today’s stats look like they suck, but this is another instance where multiple metrics give a much clearer picture. Compare the pace charts from my last two runs, today and two days ago…

3-17 pace          3-15 pace

It’s so strange how two different apps on the same phone at the same time can’t agree on distance!

Other than a few minor variations, mostly due to the route (dodging traffic, avoiding dogs, etc), what I see is a consistent pace, even better today than last time. This seems like an important thing, because steady pacing appears to be a baseline requirement to effective training – all my other runs, whether “tempo” or “fast” (that shows up for the first time on my next run – the bare beginnings of speed work), are relative to the “steady” run pace. As a side note, once I settle into this pace, I feel like I could go on and on and on…I may never set any records, but I have a calm assurance that finishing a race of nearly any distance is only a matter of having enough water and calories to get there…and of course, putting in the work ahead of time!

Tomorrow is a rest day, then Tuesday it’s back to action. I am truly beginning to look forward to the days I “get” to run! I am trying to be careful and not overdo it, not this early in my career, because I have this annoying and self-destructive streak that wants to jump all in without preparation, and running is teaching me many things about moderation and maturity…I only wish I had started years ago.

Leave a Reply

