5K-to-10K Week 2 Day 2

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 10:00 steady / 2x [2:00 fast / 2:00 jog] / 8:00 steady / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:   76 degrees;  streets around the park

Stats:            3.57 miles @ 10:05/mile

Comments:  So today I started “baby” speed work, but as Rage Against The Machine says, “It has to start somewhere, it has to start some time…what better place than here, what better time than now?” I love that song, it’s on most of my playlists.

I did much better this week on maintaining my pace through the whole interval; at least I think I did – my Nike+ app froze up about one minute after I started out, and since I’m mostly listening to the Active trainer app, I did not notice for 30 minutes, until I got to the cool-down. So I did not get the second-most important piece of feedback I wanted: the graphic pace curve. I was just a little GRRR when I noticed it, but…while I was walking off and stretching down, I remembered two important things: 1. I finished the whole run – no walking, no gasping, NO QUITTING! and, 2. I still had the most important piece of feedback: the way my body felt, the way I was breathing, how quickly I was able to recover for the second interval…You know, the way people trained for years and years before technology made us all hopeless screen-squinters! I bet not a few people still insist that is the better way to train – I am not one of them, but the point is that I could have (full disclosure: did, for a minute) let a glitch ruin a perfectly great run for me…and then I chose not to. Instead, I noticed that I can now run about a 5K every other day, with no great effort; because my attention is focused beyond that point, looking into the future (there’s a half marathon in October I have my eye on, and I saw the press release come out for the Chevron Houston Marathon this week – watching this too!)

Personal growth comes in strange spurts, and displays itself in the most random places…the blessings come when we learn to be aware; to allow ourselves to see ourselves in bloom. I hope while you are out on the roads and trails, you are looking for the blooms as well…Spring is in the air!

Leave a Reply

