5K-to-10K Week 4 Day 2

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 10:00 steady / 3x [2:00 fast / 2:00 jog] / 8:00 steady / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:   76 degrees;  streets around the park

Stats:            4.00 miles @ 10:00/mile [Active] // 3.40 miles @ 8:57/mile [Nike+]

Comments:  Today was my second speed work session, and this time I had a better “app strategy” going in: Active for the time and intervals, Nike+ for the running portion, without the walking – that’s why such wildly different reports.

I had a really hard time settling in to my steady pace today, kept wanting to speed up; but I know now that doesn’t leave me much to burn for the fast segments, especially the 3rd rep…had to walk off about a minute after that one -whew! But overall, I was pretty satisfied; I’m staying right around 9-minute miles on average, fast intervals around 7:30, with splits at 8:25 and 8:45 once I warmed up – comfortably under my goal sub-1:00:00 10K (yes, I’m stuck on that, and I will be until I clock one in a race – sue me.)

Next workout is the weekly long run, then next week is recovery week after midpoint of training. Depending how I feel, I may try to beat the previous time on the 10K, or go a longer distance…or I might just follow the trainer and do a 45-minute steady run and enjoy it; in any case, tally ho!

3 comments

  1. Paula

    Nicky- thanks for stopping by my blog! Sounds like you had a great training day- speed work is always fun but exhausting. Keep up the great work.

  2. Cassie

    I agree with Shannon. Great training day! I haven’t had a chance to read back yet to see what your app issues have been but you should really check out ismoothrun! I don’t know if you have an iphone, or if it is on the android market, but you can set intervals and workouts at different speeds and such. There is a video out there where a guy walks through all of the workout setups and stuff and it really has a lot of ability to fit with anyone. Plus you can sync to your nike+ account

    channellingmyinnerrunner.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

