5K-to-10K Week 5 Day 1

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 15:00 steady run / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:   70 degrees; running around the park

Stats:            1.65 miles @ 9:12/mile

Comments: According to my trainer app, this is a recovery week, at the halfway point in a 9-week schedule. I took that attitude to heart, and had an extra day off yesterday – maybe I won’t complete the entire plan, but since I have already done the 10K distance twice in the last 2 weeks, with respectable times (at least, I like them!) my confidence has taken a huge tick upwards…so this is the perfect time to back off just a bit, and give my body a chance to heal and re-build, prevent overuse injuries, and reassess my mental focus – all things that I believe will ensure a running career that lasts longer than the next race!

It was really strange to be done so quickly…I don’t even feel warmed up and ready until the first mile is gone, that’s about when I kick the pace into second gear and get serious. But my last post started off with a definition of “discipline”, and I guess that also has to include doing less than I may want, when that is all the plan requires. I have seen more experiences runners blog about the frustration of tapers, I think I may have some idea what they mean. No worries, though, I have lots to keep me occupied this week; a little rest may be just the thing I need!

I am participating in the April A-to-Z Challenge on my other blog…feel free to stop by and check out a post or two! (You do follow my other blog too, don’t you?) Things here will remain true to form during the challenge, have no fear!

Leave a Reply

