5K-to-10K Week 5 Day 3

Workout:       5:00 warmup / 30:00 steady run / 5:00 cool down

Conditions:   70 degrees; running the streets around the park

Stats:            3.3 miles @ 8:52/mile

Comments: This strange spring weather is conspiring against me, but today I threw off the yoke of oppression and RAN…OK, so it wasn’t so dramatic, but I did get out and work today, Yay me!

Two day lay-offs stink, at least for me right here and now. I feel all blah and it takes half a mile just to get the kinks out; on the other hand, I can look at it as realizing that I need to do about ten minutes of steadily increasing activity to be warmed up and ready to really run…so I am going to change my warm-up routine to include this, and see how it works! I am thinking  have “outgrown” the Active 10K trainer app, because I can already do that distance, at an acceptable pace; I feel this plan is geared more toward runners less accustomed to physical exertion, and my job in construction has set me a pretty decent baseline of activity to build from.

Here’s what I want now:

  • Improve my pace to a consistent 8:00/mile, within the next three weeks – I have a qualifier coming up!
  • Increase distance  – next goal = 10 miler
  • Develop a training plan for the half-mary I want to run in October, and then adapt to the marathon plan I need for January – Confidence!
  • Find a suitable app (for Android) that will make this easy, and still sync to Nike+ and/or dailymile (or that will absorb what I have there, and help me maintain a “lifetime record”

Surely that’s not so much to ask, is it?

I am participating in the April A-to-Z Challenge on my other blog…feel free to stop by and check out a post or two! (You do follow my other blog too, don’t you?) Things here will remain true to form during the challenge, have no fear!

Leave a Reply

