SPI – We have a plan!

A busy day on the home front! It was rest day yesterday (the posting was for Wednesday’s workout), so today I was supposed to do something; instead of running, however, I made some investments in the rest of my exercise lifestyle.

Karen and I visited our local YMCA, took the tour, talked to a couple of the trainers, and then joined as members; I am so happy that she decided to join with me! We got a really great deal, as they are running a special and waived the joining fee…we saved $100 right there! AND, they are starting CrossFit, only $30/month for members, free demo class next week, but they had me at CrossFit šŸ™‚ Karen is planning on doing spin class (she is not going to run) and we will be doing holistic yoga together (another first for us, we have never exercised as a couple!) Now, take all that, and add it in to what I mixed and matched this week, and here is my proposed 6-week schedule:

TheĀ  SPI-Do-Or-DieĀ© Training Plan

Week

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

1

Rest

HillsĀ x5

+Yoga

Rest

4Ā miles

CrossFit

5KĀ +

Intervals

LSR

8Ā miles

2

Rest

HillsĀ x6

+Yoga

Rest

3Ā miles

CrossFit

5KĀ +

Tempo

LoneĀ Star

10K

3

Rest

HillsĀ x7

+Yoga

Rest

5Ā miles

CrossFit

5KĀ +

Intervals

LSR

10Ā miles

4

Rest

HillsĀ x8

+Yoga

Rest

6Ā miles

CrossFit

5KĀ +

Tempo

LSR

12Ā miles

5

Rest

HillsĀ x10

+Yoga

Rest

7Ā miles

CrossFit

5KĀ +

Intervals

LSR

14Ā miles

6

Rest

5K

+Yoga

Rest

5K

CrossFit

Rest

SPI

Half

Marathon

This begins next week, with the Sunday rest day; tomorrow will be a plain-jane 10K run. (Between my duties at church, and the eventual return of The Walking Dead, no way I was scheduling workouts on that day! And Tuesday is my every-other-week prayer meeting at the halfway house where some friends and I minister.) I know it looks kind of ambitious, and maybe it is…but you should always aim high and be ready to accept a little less if you need to – better than aiming low and wondering, “What if…”

I’ll put it out there, for my more experienced brothers and sisters to comment: What do you think? I really will appreciate any suggestions; of course I reserve the right to smile and do it my way, in spite of what you say! The ultimate judge will be what my body will tolerate; but based on how far and how fast I have progressed in a few weeks, I think this is something I can achieve…and in the end, isn’t that how we all reach our goals?

Leave a Reply

