SPI Week 2 – Rest Day Recap

To all my adoring fans out there (Hi, you two!) who have wondered where I have been this week, let me reassure you that I have not fallen off training, or given up…no, I just had a whole lot of the rest of my life fall on top of me. The good news is, I did not allow the momentary-yet-never-ending distractions to deter me; exercise happened, running happened, and oh yeah, a race and a PR happened too! Let’s take the week in order, starting with the time since my last post a week ago Friday.

Saturday one week ago, I did my longest run to date, eight miles. I have discovered an interesting place near my home to do these longer runs: there is a Union Pacific rail corridor three blocks away, bounded on both sides by a toll road. This creates a limited-access space where I can run for miles without having to watch for traffic, dogs, or anything else for that matter…as long as I don’t actually run on the tracks, I have it to myself! I set off into a darkening sky, rumbling thunder, and freshening wind, knowing a storm front was moving in, but unwilling to skip the workout. I almost made it (famous last words), but about two miles from home the skies opened up, and I finished in a downpour; this was another instance that made me grateful that all my electronic gear is waterproof! I carry the only ruggedized smartphone on the market, the Casio GZ’One Commando, and this thing is nearly indestructible! All the ports and jacks have double O-ring seals, which makes it waterproof to 50 meters, according to reviews. Add a pair of waterproof Bluetooth stereo headphones, and I have music and apps in all conditions – and one less excuse not to run!

I made a few adjustments to the famous SPI Do-or-Die Training Plan™, here is the latest version:

Week

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

1

Rest

Hills(5)

+Yoga

Rest

4 miles

HMP

BodyAttack

+ Strength

Training

Intervals

LSR

8 miles

2

Rest

Hills(6)

+Yoga

Rest

Tempo

BodyAttack

+ Strength

Training

Rest

Lone Star

10K

3

Rest

Hills(7)

+Yoga

Rest

5 miles

HMP

BodyAttack

+ Strength

Training

Intervals

LSR

10 miles

4

Rest

Hills(8)

+Yoga

Rest

6 miles

HMP

BodyAttack

+ Strength

Training

Tempo

LSR

12 miles

5

Rest

Hills(9)

+Yoga

Rest

7 miles

HMP

BodyAttack

+ Strength

Training

Intervals

LSR

14 miles

6

Rest

Hills(5)

+Yoga

Rest

3 miles

HMP

BodyAttack

(only)

Rest

SPI

Half

Marathon

Yoga went well; it’s beginner hatha yoga, basically, with lots of floor poses and a fairly low-intensity, laid-back approach; the instructor is encouraging, but not very hands-on, I’m OK with that for now; later I will probably want something a bit more challenging.

Speaking of challenging, my little hill repeat workout certainly qualifies! I continue to aim for negative splits on most workouts; by the last one or two trips over the hill, I really have to dig deep! I am amazed at the amount of upper-body involvement, going up and down, that hills require…but I like this!

Because of the race I had coming up (more on that in a minute), I changed the mid-week run from HMP to Tempo, and that actually worked well for me, as I used a “tempo strategy” to run the 10K. I think I figured out the workings of the HIIT timer app, I now have two workouts saved: one for intervals, one for tempo, and I know how to modify them to match my ability. Liking this app and this routine more each week!

I decided to stay in BodyAttack, for two basic reasons: one, it’s free, or should I say included in the cost of membership, and two, the workout kicked my butt! We had a guest instructor this week, as our regular was out sick. It’s interesting how the exact same music and choreography, but led by a different coach, can feel so different!! I was just as tired, and had to make most of the same modifications, but again, I am liking this one a lot. I may change to BodyPump, but I might also just add it, and keep this too…decisions, decisions, decisions!

And then came Saturday, and my first 10K race – I finished, I ran the whole way, I ran sub-1 hour, and I felt great! I think my favorite part had to be just after the halfway point; the course was 5K, so we did the loop twice. There was a nice little group of us running together at about 9:00/mile for the first 3 miles, not really talking to each other but hanging in there. I had been making a conscious effort to hold back and not go too fast, so I would have enough in me to finish well. Around 3.5 miles, I figured it was time, so I told the girl next to me, “Thanks, good luck, bye!” and kicked it up a notch; I had to smile when I heard her audibly gasp as I sped away at around 8:00 pace! The second half of the race, I alternated between “fast” and “faster”, and finished out pretty well, I think…22nd in my age group, 107th overall; chip time 53:52.6, pace 8:41/mile. Had I sped up sooner, I might have actually hit the 51:05 qualifying time for the Houston Marathon!

IMG_20130505_112537

The newest addition to my race shirt collection!

And today begins a new week with a rest day. So, all in all, a successful and profitable week of training. I also booked our hotel on Padre Island for next month, so Karen and I are all set; I’m not staying at the resort hosting the race, but I’m paying less for two nights than they are charging for one, and it’s less than two miles away, good enough for me!

See you next week, with a new report, and another week closer to SPI. Thanks for stopping by!

One comment

  1. Pingback: 50K Training Recap Week 8 + Menu | KandJColorado

Leave a Reply

