Houston Marathon Training update (through a mouthful of blood)

And a giveaway on the way!…but you have to read to the end!

OK, maybe that title is a bit extreme, but after the week I’ve had, a little extreme may be just what the situation calls for! My last post came mid-week, but I chose to defer reporting these happenings until this week…both to make sure I got this post done on time and to keep continuity in the story! Hollywood might be able to tell a story out-of-sequence and make it work, but this ain’t Hollywood, so let me bring everyone up to date:

Sunday: Long run – 65-75 min @ 9:18/mi, 7.5 mi // 82 min @ 10:45/min, 7.6 mi  Like I said, slow…

Monday: Rest day – My favorite day! Been doing stretching/core/foam rolling for active recovery, seems to help!

Tuesday: TM paces – 1 mi easy run warm up, then 6 sets of [ 0.5 mi @ 7:37/mi, 2:00 recovery], then 1mi easy run cool down  First time to do this many sets; makes you realize how short two minutes can be!

Wednesday: Cross training – zero I am very used to listening to my body, so when it wants an “extra” rest day, it gets it!

Thursday: Cross training – two hours “strength and agility drills”  Moving A/C units by hand from pallet to cart to ramp to elevator to ramp to floor to room, 28 units spread across three floors – and yes, sometimes I count my job as training!

Friday: Maintenance – 30-35 min @ 9:18/mi, 3.5 mi // Rest day, no running I had three hours of oral surgery, with five teeth and two tori removed – and pain meds, oh my!

Saturday: Cross training // 30 minute stretching and foam rolling I slept a good part of the day (see pain meds above) but by the evening, I needed a good stretch-and-roll!

Sunday: Long run – 45-55 min @ 9:18/mi, 5.5 mi // 57 min @ 10:18/mi, 5.5 mi Run was much easier than anticipated, felt really good – until I noticed my mouth filling up with the taste of blood! Maybe next time I’ll wait more than 36 hours after surgery to run (or not, just keep rinsing!)

I tried out a new (to me, anyway) running/fitness product for this long run, and I must say, I was very impressed and highly pleased with the results! I have one more “test” to perform, and then I will have the pleasure of sharing with you my first product review – and my first giveaway! I have also firmed up my race schedule for the fall/winter – registered for a neat little 5K (running with the Houston Texans, how could I pass that up?), and getting real with myself about “traveling races” versus “local races”. (I’ll try to keep the countdown boxes accurate, but I only list races I am confirmed for; the “hopefuls” would fill page after page!)

See you later!

2 comments

  1. LilMysNinja

    Ouch! I’ve not had to do oral surgery before but just reading about it makes me hurt! Hope you’re feeling better and great job at recapping! 🙂 can’t wait to hear the product review and of course, the giveaway 😉

Leave a Reply

