CHM Training update: T-21; or, As the swelling fades…

Another week has passed by: the calendar page has turned (remember when calendars HAD pages?); training plans are in full bloom; the fall race schedule has been nailed down; I have a new Page…see up there at the top?…that lists everything I have done/am doing, at least up to CHM; I have my eye on three new (to me) races in 2014 already, but that can wait!

As I said last week, I have begun the process of getting complete dentures – the second surgery inserted itself into my week with short notice – but I think I adapted well! Let’s go through the week, and you can decide for yourself!

Sunday: Long run – 55-65 min @ 9:18/mi, 6.5 mi // 81 min @ 10:42/min, 7.5 mi  I knew I wouldn’t get another chance to run for a few days, so I stretched this one out – and it felt great!

Monday: Rest day – Returned to the dentist, had eight teeth extracted, 2 1/2 hours in the chair; the Attending told me I had “worst case” for extractions – weak, brittle teeth, but firmly set in healthy bone – so everything broke off and came out in pieces. So glad that is over!!!

Tuesday: TM Paces // Rest day  Not even trying to get out of bed…and the swelling peaked: I look like a walrus!

Wednesday: Cross training //  Stretching and foam rolling  “Did you say the swelling peaked? Silly boy, HERE is some swelling! Back to bed!!” But in the evening, I got rid of some of the stiffness and cobwebs…a little myofascial release goes a long way!

Thursday: Maintenance – 15-20 min @ 9:18/mi, 2 mi //  19:21@9:35/mi, 2 mi  SOO GOOOD to get back on my feet…my body was feeling SO lethargic, and I just really needed to stir it up! The swelling is beginning to recede, and I feel a lot better…just hungry!

Friday: Maintenance – 15-20 min @ 9:18/mi, 2 mi //  18:28@9:09/mi, 2 mi  Wanted to push myself a little harder than I have lately, just to see if I could – pretty happy with it, too!

Saturday: Cross training // Rest day I spent a great deal of the day catching up on stuff around the house, mixed with short, sweet periods of nothing!  I figured that if I had to take an involuntary week-long vacation, it would be a shame to go back to work all exhausted! I know it’s Labor Day Weekend, but my life does nit always consult a calendar!

Totals for this week: 3 runs, 11.5 miles (out of 15)

Totals for August: 12 runs, 52 miles

So, I really did not miss out too much – a little cross-training, and one pace workout; I have always been a fairly quick healer! But; as I said, all of that is behind me…my next step is eight weeks of healing, and then I get fitted for dentures. I am totally OK with full dentures at age 45; pride is a poor substitute for many things, but it especially sucks as a stand-in for eating solid food. That is my current challenge to overcome: figuring out ways to get adequate nutrition, while limited to a liquid/soft foods diet. It gets complicated, because I get food-bored pretty easy!

So have you ever had diet-related issues interfere with your training? How did you adapt, and what did you try that failed? I’d love to hear from you in the comments…share your experience with others!

Leave a Reply

