The Big News!

Hello everyone! I am sorry that this is coming out so late, but my non-digital life has been very…interesting lately (this apocryphal curse has taken root in my world) and I am still adjusting to the new schedule; blog posts, tweets, and other social media interactions have been shifted much farther into the evening hours. Please bear with me, hopefully this will all be changing (again) sometime in the near future. I’m a child of the 80’s, so allow me to quote Geddy Lee:

“Changes aren’t permanent, but change is.”

If you follow me on Twitter, you may know what my big announcement is all about, but for the rest: I have been selected as one of ten finalists to be an Ambassador for the 2014 Chevron Houston Marathon!

ambassador badge

This is a tremendous honor and opportunity, and I am still kind of blown away.  Here is more about what this entails, from the Marathon Committee website:

The Chevron Houston Marathon and Aramco Houston Half Marathon are seeking influential runners to represent our 2014 race! We’re looking for 10 dedicated runners who love the Chevron Houston Marathon and Aramco Houston Half Marathon, are involved in our running community (both on the ground and online) and are ready to be part of our amazing team of Ambassadors!

Ambassador Role:

  • Distribution of event materials in hometown (running stores, local races, etc)
  • Spread the word about the Chevron Houston Marathon events (local running clubs, social media, blogging, etc are all examples) and answer questions.
  • Race Weekend support- to be determined.
  • Be an expert on the Chevron Houston Marathon or Aramco Houston Half Marathon!

All registered entrants in the Chevron Marathon or Aramco Half Marathon were eligible to apply, but I almost didn’t – I submitted my application on the very last day, nearly the very last hour! I never dreamed that a first-time runner would be selected, and I hardly consider myself “influential”, but apparently YOU, my blog-reading, Twitter-following, Facebook-liking family in cyberspace, made the difference…and I am profoundly grateful for that!

I have a great deal to learn, in order to fulfill my duties as an Ambassador, and a great many things I want to talk about with you: both about the history of the race, and about how I intend to live up to my responsibilities, as well as WHY this is such a huge thing for me; but the hour groweth late, morning comes early, and frankly I am still a little overwhelmed by it all. Trust me, though – once I get my feet under me, you will not be able to shut me up 🙂 I simply wanted to share my good news with all of you, my “virtual” running family, and I ask that you keep me in your prayers and thoughts as I move forward…I can absolutely use your support.  More to come in days to come – count on it!

7 comments

  1. Pingback: CHM Training update: T-16 weeks – What a week! | Striding Towards Life

Leave a Reply

