Before I ran, I wrote…

My friend Nicole published a poem the other day. Something in it spoke to something in me, and this happened:

Argument

No!

yes

Leave…me…alone.

if i don’t, you won’t be

Broken pieces, with jagged edges

Swept into the corner; dust bunnies flee for safety.

they were brushed aside to gather you safely

i needed room to work

Watch out! You will cut yourself on me!

blood clots, wounds heal…i am OK

Why do you care? I don’t…

but you do, this i know is true…as i also care

Do you? Well, then…prove it!

i did…i’m still here, and so are you

Yes, you are…yes, I am. You won’t hate me later for losing myself?

no, because when i win…we win

Leave a Reply

