CHM Training update: T-13 weeks – Back where I belong

Sorry this is coming out late, it’s been a VERY busy weekend!

With a change of weather comes a change of attitude, and a change of outcome: all of these for the better, I’m happy to say! Let’s break it down, shall we?

Sunday 10-20: Long run – 55-65 min @ 9:18/mi, 6-7 mi // 1:25:48 @ 9:30/mi, 9.0 mi  After an exhausting week of long days, late nights, and miles of extra walking, I finally got my truck back from the shop, and life returned to equilibrium. I ran a bit more than the training plan called for, but I wanted that time on my feet, building ahead for next week’s 15-mile long run.

Monday 10-21: Rest day //  Rest  A short work day, and another visit with the dentist: we have taken the molds for my dentures, next step is test-fitting, then off to the lab to make the actual appliances – we are getting closer by leaps and bounds 🙂

Tuesday 10-22: TM paces – 0.25 mi walk/1.75 mi easy run warm-up; 6x [0.25 mi @ 7:20/mi, 1:30 @ very easy run recover]; 1.5 mi easy run cool down  //  52:41 @ 9:35/mi, 5.5 miles  Another great pace workout…I do get some strange looks from other people at the gym, because I’m running when they get there, and still at it when they leave – oh well, improved performance requires putting in the work!

Wednesday 10-23: Cross training  //  Rest I will eventually settle down into a real weight-training routine, if I ever get away from the 12-hour workdays…gotta pay the bills, but man, it gets old.

Thursday 10-24: Maintenance – 55-60 min @ 9:18/mi, 6 mi //  59:12 @ 9:50/mi avg, 6 miles  This week I brought back an old favorite: hill repeats on the overpass! I ran an easy 0.5 mile warm up to the hill, then 8 repeats over and back @ 1 KM each (this hill has a 4% grade, which doesn’t sound like much until about the 4th or 5th time you do it…and realize you’re not done yet!) and then an easy 0.5 mile back home. I was very glad to see some definite progress – the last time I ran this hill, I was doing 10:30-11:00 miles, now it’s more like 9:30-10:00 – wow!!

Friday 10-25: Maintenance – 55-60 min @ 9:18/mi, 6 mi // Rest  Worked another 12-hour shift, so I declared the day done, and moved this run to the next day; staying flexible is the key to staying sane (or what passes for sanity, these days 🙂

Saturday 10-26: Cross-training //  58:00 @ 9:30/mi, 6 miles  Another rare bird here – I ran “naked”…NOT LIKE THAT! My Nike+ app had some kind of seizure, which froze up my phone, so I just ran…I know the distance around the running loop at the park, I knew what time I started and stopped, and I was not at all concerned with pace – and it turned out to be a very enjoyable experience, and a decent pace average for a maintenance run, at that!

Total for this week: 4 runs, 26.6 miles

Total for October: 13 runs, 78.0 miles

This was a much better week for running, I made all my scheduled workouts, made all my distances, and felt really strong doing it – wins, all around! I also got my first opportunity to volunteer for a racing event: my running club, the Houston Striders, is one of the sponsor for the Houston Half Marathon, one of the lead-up events in local tradition to the Chevron Houston Marathon. I did not register for this race, because I had planned to be out of town on a church retreat (which in turn got shot down by my employment issues) so I signed up to do packet pick-up, and it was a blast! It was so cool being in a position to meet hundreds of local runners, talk with them for a few minutes, and wish them a sincere “Have a great race!”

 

 

Front and back of the volunteer shirt – a nice Asics tech tee!

As an unexpected bonus, since a couple hundred of the 4000 registered participants did not show up to claim their bibs, I was told that it would be OK for me to “bandit” the race: there would be more than enough water, fuel, food, etc to go around, so I would not be “robbing” from anyone – I would not get a bib or timing chip, but I would get a swag bag, including the race shirt, and a finisher’s medal – SWEET! The race recap, with pictures,  will be headed your way tomorrow, I haven’t really had a chance to commit it all to paper…or electrons…or however you say that in the digital age 🙂 but I won’t let you down, I promise…it was a fantastic experience, even if the weather – and my own body – were conspiring against me!

What is your opinion of running a race you did not pay for?

Have you ever been a “race bandit”? If so, what led to that decision?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

3 comments

  1. Emily

    Way to go for getting back out there strong! I’ve never been a bandit but if they have more than enough bibs and enough volunteers, why not? I might feel a little bad for ditching if I was volunteering in a group but I think that would probably go, that might be selfish though. Oh well, glad you had a great week!

    • Nick

      I appreciate that Emily…if I had committed to volunteer ON race day, I would have done that, instead; but I chose packet pickup on Saturday because they still needed help at the time I realized I would not be going to the retreat. It’s only being selfish if you renege on a promise because something YOU want looks better; I had no other commitments, so it all worked out Thanks for stopping by, I’m headed to your blog now to check it out!

  2. Pingback: Houston Half Marathon – Training (race) recap | Striding Towards Life

Leave a Reply

