The Sunshine (Award) in my life

sunshine_award

While I have been nominated for a blogging award before (on a different blog) I am grateful to find that the joy of being recognized for my humble little pecking away at the keyboard does not diminish with repetition! Let me first send a warm thank you to my friend Benny at Running Large, who nominated me for this honor; please go visit his blog because he is truly an inspiring writer and runner, and I always look forward to reading his race recaps – this guy gets around!

The rules of this award are very simple:

  • Display the badge on a post (it will reside in my sidebar as well!)
  • Link back to the person who nominated me, and answer 10 questions sent to me by that person.
  • Select another 10 bloggers to nominate – people I really enjoy reading, who I believe are worth sharing with others; post links to their sites;  and send them my own list of 10 questions.

Let’s start with my answers to the questions sent to me –

1. What is the most important piece of advice for new runners?  Before you do anything else, FIND THE RIGHT SHOES FOR YOU! Get thee to a running store – NOT a sporting goods big box, or a regular shoe store – tell them that you are just getting started and need their advice, and then listen to what they say. You might even leave the store without buying anything the first time – that is OK! You may need to shop around some for the best deal – I am on a tight budget myself – but at least know WHAT you are shopping for; there is nothing that will steal the joy of running faster than doing it in a shoe that causes you to injure yourself!

2. What is your favorite song to run to? My playlist rotates constantly, so I never get bored with it, but when I need to kick that sub-8:00 mile, “Bleed It Out” by Linkin Park is my “power song”.

3. Have you ever been injured while running?  If so, how did you overcome it? Yes, this story makes me ashamed and proud at the same time: I ran my 1st half-mary on a beach and barefoot, despite having done neither of those before. At around 10 miles, my ankles were threatening to revolt, and I actually stopped running and stood in the surf until my feet went numb, listening to the wind and the waves; then I gathered my resolve and gutted out the last 5K, and finished just under 2 hours – which is still my PR! (DO NOT use this as your running plan – it cost me 2 months of rehab time before I could run more than a quarter-mile again 😦 )

4. What do you do besides run to stay in shape? I have been depending on my base fitness, built up over a twenty-year career in commercial construction, but that only goes so far; I have signed up to receive the Spartan WOD, and I am building my own CrossFit gym in my backyard, to carry my training to the next level.

5. What do you watch on TV? Other than the news, I only watch 4 shows regularly – Marvel Agents of Shield; Once Upon a Time, and the spin-off Wonderland; and The Walking Dead. Fairy tales and comic books…but some of the most clever writing I have seen in a long time!

6. Have you ever done a destination race?  If so, where? I won the entry to that half-marathon, at the Schlitterbahn Resort in South Padre Island, TX – we made a vacation weekend of it, and I will probably go back next year, and every year if we can.

7. What is your one piece of must have gear for a run? I nearly always use the Nike+ app on my phone, because I like GPS tracking and can’t afford a stand-alone device right now; it also lets me have music without carrying an MP3 player, and supports Bluetooth headphones, because earbud wires are annoying!

8. What would cause you to quit running? Nothing short of a catastrophic injury could make me stop now, I’m a junkie!

9. What has been your favorite race? The Houston Half Marathon is my current favorite, because it was by far the best organized and largest (4000 runners) of my brief racing experience.

10. What has been your least favorite race? Not the fault of the race itself, but I recently ran a 5K put on by the PTO of a local elementary school; it was terribly hot and humid that morning, there were no water stations except at the finish, and honestly I was not physically or mentally present that day; I disappointed myself and left wishing I had not come. I hope to return to this one also, and give more attention to the event than to myself…I am certain I will enjoy it more!

My nominations:

I follow a lot of blogs, and I enjoy reading all of them (why “follow” something that isn’t worth your time?) , but there a few standouts that I make a serious effort to stay current with – note, not all of the are running or fitness related, I have other interests too:

Coffee and Macaroons

The Idiot Economist

I thought they said RUM

I Am A Runner

Idiot Runner Girl

Stephen Z Metal’s Blog

After the Ecstasy, the Laundry…

wordsandotherthings

Consistently Contradictory

So What? I run.

Now the hardest part – 10 questions for each of these bloggers to answer…I had to really think about this part, since I purposely expanded the field beyond running blogs:

  1. How long have you been blogging, and what inspired you to begin?
  2. Read the book, or see the movie – if you get a choice, which comes first?
  3. What have you already crossed off your “bucket list”?
  4. Coffee, tea, or caffeine-free?
  5. What song on your playlist are you most likely to put on “repeat”?
  6. What was your first paycheck job, and how long did you work there?
  7. Ever drive a motorcycle? Would you?
  8. Early bird or night owl?
  9. What movie have you seen the most times, and how many?
  10. Name a food you could eat every day, if cost or calories were no object.
6 comments

  1. Ashley @ Coffee & Macarons

    You are so sweet! I have been pretty absent from blogging, but this might JUST be the motivation I needed. 🙂

    Thanks doll!

  2. Nicole Marie

    Nick,

    Thank you so much for this award! I will post my responses/nominations ASAP. Also, thanks for being the reason I just added “blue tooth headphones” to my Christmas wish list. 🙂 You, sir, are a badass runner. Congrats on the award and thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

