CHM Training update: T+1 week: I need a new title!

Here we are, one week past the fulfillment of a goal I have been working towards for over a year…and I am not all that surprised to find myself in a funk, and a little aimless. It has been an effort to even begin planning for the next big thing – or the next little thing, for that matter! My body is a wreck, my spirits are at a low ebb, my “real” life marches relentlessly on, and I am coasting at the moment. I can’t even call it procrastinating, because I haven’t gotten around to doing that much 🙂 I know (because so many other wonderful runners and bloggers have told me so) that this is a normal and temporary phase, so I am not in a panic or anything…but that doesn’t make it any less real, either. Here is a quick summary of the week after…

Sunday 1-12:  Race – 26.2  miles, 5:35:13 (PR)   I am still working on my recap post (look for it sometime this week, I promise) so I will simply say that finishing this was the hardest thing I have ever done – and the most satisfying, as well!

marathon medalsNice haul for two runs!

Monday 1-20 thru Friday 1-24:  Rest days – no activity  Monday morning I could barely get out of bed, my quads hurt so bad. I decided then and there to take the full week off running to allow for rest and recovery; my only concession to fitness (other than the miles I walk every day at work, including at least 10 trips a day up and down the stairs to the 7th floor) were daily sessions of stretching and foam rolling. The pain has faded, but my legs still feel like they are mad and could turn on me at any moment…hopefully a gradual return will change their attitude 🙂

Saturday 1-25: Trail running– 6.75 miles, 1:30:00 +/- For my re-entry to training, I decided a group run would be the best option, so I headed out this morning to run the Memorial Park trails with the HATR Nation. We had a great turnout, despite the 30 degree temps, partly because Rob Goyen, aka The Prez, had some special announcements: we are forming teams to run the Ragnar Trail Series this fall in the Texas Hill Country, and working out the details of a sponsorship deal to represent Ragnar in the Houston area! I have asked Rob to write a guest post here, giving more details and info, so be looking for that as well in the near future – there will also be a giveaway related to this, so don’t miss out!

The run itself was broken into two segments: a 2.3 mile warm-up loop at a fairly easy pace, and then a 4.4 mile loop that had me huffing and puffing. My quads started hurting again about a mile from the finish, and I had to walk part of the way from there, but I got it done and I think I will be all the way back in the groove within another week. I am psyched about getting started on training for that 50K in late April – I have to get my mileage built back up, and get real about some weight training as well, but I believe all things come to those who put in the effort!

Total for this week: 2 runs, 33 miles

Total for January: 10 runs, 53.4 miles; #runthisyear goal 4.2% (85.4/2014 km)

Living Water fundraising to date: $63.00

It was a week of ups and downs; being congratulated by friends and co-workers on completing the marathon, while struggling with the aftermath in my head. But tomorrow is another day, and there are more races already lining up on the schedule, so I won’t get caught up lingering over the “what-if’s” and “should-have’s”; I will be far to busy with “going-to” and “let’s-do-this” for any of that!

Have you ever suffered from post-marathon depression?

How did you overcome it?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

One comment

  1. Melissa

    Congrats on the finish!

    I fell into something of a funk after the Cleveland half last May. I traveled to run with two great friends and it was something I’d looked forward to for months. We had trained together via text and even though I struggled with a minor injury and didn’t make my time goal, I had such a great time that when it was over, I was really bummed. It took time and something new to focus on, I guess. No magic cure there.

Leave a Reply

