Weekly Training update (if you want to call it that)

So the post-marathon funk is in full effect now…I have allowed life to overwhelm me, and made every excuse imaginable for not getting out and running: everything from bringing work home (which is silly, because I have bringing stuff home for years, and I never look at it until I have had a few hours to unwind) to a second round of ice and sleet that blew back into the area on Tuesday and Wednesday (OK, maybe that was reasonable) to forgetting that it was my turn at cooking dinner and “sacrificing” my workout to keep us from eating too late (like a 30-minute delay would have really mattered); the results have been predictably disappointing. I got out ONCE this week, I have done exactly zero cross-training, and my body feels cramped and neglected…read on and you’ll see why!

Sunday 1-26:  Easy run– 3.1  miles, 30:53   The one pretty day we had all week, so I am glad I went. I tried an experiment: no knee braces, no ankle wraps, no taping; just a thorough stretching and warm-up and then run. To my surprise, I had no pain in my ankles, no pain in my knee, no pain in my quads – all the injuries that have been plaguing me for the last two months suddenly vanished! I am really wondering if I have simply been pushing too hard, over-training and overworking my body…maybe I need to do  better job of tracking and allowing for the mileage I put in during the day at work (on this job site I often will not sit down or stop moving for up to 10 hours at a stretch); I know I need to integrate more non-running workouts, especially some upper body strength training, to balance things out. I would love to get started with CrossFit, but I have not yet been able to make it to the required Intro class; they are only offered once or twice a month, and my weekend schedule has gotten very full with other commitments that are equally important to me, like the team prep meetings for the spring Kairos Prison Ministry weekend coming up in early April (I took a year off from this work, and it is time to get back – and I have finally convinced my wife to serve with the team this year, hurray!) I will not say there isn’t enough time for everything, because we all have the same 168 hours a week; it is up to us to decide how we will spend them – and the things we choose to do, those are the ones that matter the most, regardless of what we say.

Total for this week: 1 run, 3.1 miles

Total for January: 11 runs, 56.5 miles; #runthisyear goal 4.4% (90/2014 km)

Living Water fundraising to date: $67.00

I know I’m setting myself up for disaster – I have two short races, a 50K and two Spartan races (in the same weekend – eeek!) scheduled over the next 4 months – but I cannot seem to get myself out of the starting blocks. I have seen it said that the last week of January is one of the most depressing times of the year – winter blah has worn us down; the holidays are over, and the bills have arrived; add to that my personal runner’s curse of having completed my biggest goal race, is it any wonder I’m in the hole right now? I will rise above all this, I have no fear about that; it’s a matter of getting started, that’s all…and if I need a push in the right direction, I need go no further than my own blog archives – I can revisit where I was a year ago, when I was just starting out on the road to becoming a runner..if I could do it then, I can do it now. I have this consolation: it’s a whole new month, so I have a clean slate; let’s see what kind of mark I can make!

Are you having trouble staying motivated?

How can we help each other?

I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

7 comments

  1. Zoyla Sexton

    Ladies and gentlemen, I am not a runner, but what it seems to me that all of you are experiencing is similar to writer’s block and that I know well. A journey isn’t made up of one trip or one race, or one day you didn’t train, it is a combination of all the things you are doing to make your goal. Count all victories, every step you take in the direction of your goal, write them down if you have to, whatever way you can to see you’re moving forward. Stay away from the negativity, it only breeds more of the same. You can’t control the weather, you can control you.

  2. grabyourkicks

    I blame the weather too. I have a 10 miler coming up on St. Pat’s day, but haven’t kicked my butt in gear to run longer than 4 miles on the treadmill. I know I need to get outside, but I’m a wuss when it comes to this cold, plus the sidewalks are iffy. It WILL get better and we’ll both accomplish our goals. We just need to keep going! Glad to hear you’re running pain free!!

    • Nick

      Thanks for that! I almost wish the treadmill was an option, but I had to give up my membership at the Y last year, and the budget isn’t looking very gym- friendly anytime soon. At least my next two races are fairly short – a 6K cross country and a 10K road race. I’m not looking for PR’s, just trying to stay in the groove, so there’s no pressure… whew!

  3. The Petite Pacer

    Having not run a marathon, I’m in the January funk. I was better last year when I was a newer runner. Or, it could be that this was just a colder, snowier January. It can only get better from here..

  4. bke161

    I thought tha the “marathon funk” was just a myth, but sadly I fell victim to it as well. Even when I do run, I am still somewhat in a funk. Maybe warmer weather will help shake out the cobwebs.

    • Nick

      That’s what I’m hoping for, too. Winter in Houston doesn’t last long, so I take comfort in the page turning on the calendar… and I run better in the heat anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

