Fall training update, Week 3: (Not) Running on empty

running-on-empty-fuel-gauge

Much as I predicted last week, there were lots of long days and late nights. I worked 54 hours in 4 days, and spent the time I wasn’t working in a desperate attempt to recover enough energy to make it through the next day; obviously my training has suffered terribly. I had thought I could squeeze a run or two in somewhere, but it turns out that I only book-ended the week – one at the beginning, one at the end. I will simplify the report by only listing what got done, how’s that?

Monday: 5 miles easy runMonday is supposed to be rest day, but since I ran nothing all weekend, I decided to get out and do something. It felt really nice to escape for a while, and not think about anything except putting one foot in front of the other – this was the most restful hour of the week!

Sunday: 3.1 miles, 29:27 – I have been doing the Licorice and Olives Virtual 5K Race Series this year, and today was the last day to record this month’s entry. I have been resting all weekend, and so I planned the day to have all the chores finished in time to get out at sunset and do this run. While that time is nothing much to brag about (a full six minutes off my PR) the fact that I can go out “cold” and still run sub-30 helps me believe that base fitness will get me back on track once the insanity at works dies down to its usual dull roar.

Summary: Planned – 5 runs, 25-ish miles, 3 strength training days; actual – 2 runs, 8 miles, 0 strength training days

I am headed into another week much like this one, so I am suspending all expectations – whatever I can do, I will do, and I will make myself be satisfied with whatever happens…after all:

“Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them; that only creates sorrow.Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.”
Lao Tzu

3 comments

Leave a Reply

