Fall training update, Episode 4: A New Hope (is what I need…)

I hesitated to call this post a “training update”, as no actual training took place; instead it was another series of long and longer days, getting home between 7 and 10pm almost every night, and then working all day Saturday as well. Three consecutive weeks of this has left me a general ragged mess, but I believe the dividends will pay off: The Hero approached me twice this week, once to inquire whether or not I was joining the mass exodus which has been taking place at my company (one of the project managers gave notice on Monday, and another superintendent jumped ship the same day…taking 15 mechanics with him!); and then later in the week to ask if I would be interested in a promotion to superintendent myself, running the same type of projects I have been doing for the last year – only with the pay raise and perks that go along with the title. I had been debating if I should put myself on the market, and I told him as much. I have been feeling very over-worked, under-paid, and under-appreciated lately…and the fact that my running has completely been pushed to the side is no small part of that. So while I wait and see if these promises bear fruit, let’s take a peek at the “fruit” of my own week –

Summary: Planned – 5 runs, 30-ish miles, 3 strength training days; actual – 0 runs, 0 miles, 0 strength training days

With only 12 weeks remaining before the first of my goal races this fall, I will have to follow the advice of our wise Chinese friend quoted above; my training plan will have to be collapsed somewhat, although I need to be careful: the last time I tried to “crash” a training plan I ended up limping for two months! But I am older and wiser now 🙂 and so I will do my best not to repeat past mistakes…I’m certain there are whole realms of new mistakes for me to make!!

So let’s take a look at the first half of my revised plan –

 

 The varying durations of trail running having the same distances are due to variations in pace..I will run a little faster on days I run less, and slower on days I run longer. And I will begin to split my weekends between trail runs and longer  goal pace road runs – taking advantage of the new pair of Brooks Ghost 6 running shoes I just bought earlier today (at 60% off – I love finding a sale!) There are a couple of races thrown in there just for variety’s sake, and as check-ups… because you and I both know that racing brings out a whole ‘nother level of running 🙂

I am pretty confident that the storm of job deadlines is now behind me – all the long days and late nights were due to after-hours inspections, which we passed across the board – and therefore I will once again have a regular schedule so I can get my workouts done…at least, that is my new hope!

53256060

Leave a Reply

